Day 10 – 50 Day Change Challenge – The ‘F’ Word

50DayChallenge
It’s day 10 of the Change Challenge and I’m talking about the `Fear Factor’. I once heard an acronym for the word FEAR that I just think sums it up in a nutshell. False Evidence Appearing Real! Wow, what an accurate analogy of this word. I’ve often asked myself how can this tiny four letter word hold so much power?

I make no bones when I say that as a woman of faith, I have found no other way to address this crippling entity except through prayer and other more spiritual means. Whatever your beliefs or methods of dealing with fear, I’m sure you’ve experienced fear and you’ll agree that this potent emotion has caused you to stagnate in some area of your life at some time.

Why is fear so crippling?
I believe the quote above to be one of the factors. Fear disguises itself as partial truth or masquerades as some form of evidence that images our past experiences, failures and traumas. By the time it’s negative projections hit our psyche, they actually look quite convincing.

You know the chorus… “You’re going to fail because you always fail at it”. Or how about? “Your parents never succeeded at that so you won’t either”. Here’s one more for the touch down. “Every business, marriage, relationship, diet, idea you’ve ever had has failed, what makes you think you’ll succeed this time? After you’ve allowed a good dose of this kind of deathly chatter into your head the only direction is down.

I’ve discovered a few things about fear and have found that being aware of these simple truths has given me a totally different perspective of the ‘Fear Factor’. I’d like to share them with you.

1. Fear has a voice and it’s loud if you allow it to be. So when it shouts at me, I simply shout right back! Yes, that’s right. Fear tells me thousands of reasons why I can’t succeed and I tell it the millions of reasons why I will.

2. Fear never gives up. It’s layered. You overcome it in one area and up it pops in another, so you have to be armed and ready daily to engage in the battle.

3. Fear is a big bully! It increases its attack on its victims when they’re most vulnerable. There’s only one antidote for bullies and that’s to confront them head on.

4. Fear has no empathy and it’s hostile in nature, so there’s no place for playing the victim game with it and stroking it like a furry friend. Fear is NOT your friend.

5. Fear isn’t reality. It’s false evidence that looks pretty close to the truth. But it isn’t! So keeping your mind and confession on the truth about who you are and what you’re here to do is like breathing air.

However you look at it, fear is an arch enemy of results, success, purpose and destiny. The grave is full of great potential that never got untapped because its owner was crippled by fear. There comes a time when you just have to do it even if you ‘feel’ afraid. Remember it’s just a feeling.

The question to ask yourself is, “Am I going to allow a false impression of myself and my potential stop me from being all I’ve been created to become?” Or “Will I take the challenge and learn to actively defeat this enemy called Fear and do the things that are in my heart to do?”

I vote for you taking the ‘F’ Word Challenge. Drop me a line and let me know how you’re overcoming your fears.

See you tomorrow.

http://www.JohnMaxwellGroup.com/CharmaineSealey

Tell me what you think before you GO!

