Day 27 – 50 Day Change Challenge – Time to Declutter

50 Day Challenge

It’s Day 27 of the Change Challenge and today I’m looking at DECLUTTERING your life! What do I mean by this? It’s simple, sometimes we are trying really hard to get to another stage in our lives, reach and accomplish new goals but we have so much ancient baggage left hanging around that holds us back.

Today’s post is simple. It’s time for a clean up. You’re entering

into a New Year, with new goals and aspirations and some old ones but you can’t see the wood through the trees because you’ve got so much clutter all over the place. Sound familiar? It used to for me also, until I learned to do a life audit before I enter a New Year. The last thing you want to be doing on January 1st is sitting in the pool of last years turmoil and trying to hustle to get rid of the excess weight.

So what are the things that you know you have to get rid of so you can really start getting your new habits and life changes underway?

There are all sorts of things that hold us back and deep down we tend to know them but we just get so used to holding onto them or can’t be bothered to face them, so we allow them to weigh us down.

For instance how about some of those negative relationships where every time that person arrives at your home or work; you see them coming, turn off all the lights, gag the kids and hold your breath for just as long as it takes for them to go away?

Or what about that excess weight you’re carrying around that stops you from being as active as you know you need to be to get to the next level of your life?

Maybe it’s physical clutter, where you need to get all that junk out of the garage so that you can set up the home office to launch into your new life of entrepreneurship.

Whatever the clutter, we all carry some at times but nearing the end of the year is a great time to get rid of it and start a fresh.

I just got myself a new computer. Yes finally I’ve crossed over into the world of Apple and said goodbye to my beloved HP forever. This was such a big transition for me because I just felt as if I had so much on my computer and the thought of transferring all of that data and files was overwhelming to say the least. My plan was to wait until I come off on the Christmas Holidays and  sit down and transfer all of the files onto my new Mac. Of course I knew deep down that this was not going to happen.

Yes, the Hoarding Gremlin had made a great case in my mind and I was all set. But thank God I came to my senses and realised that I didn’t need all of that data. I did not have to bring over all of those emails just in case one day I may need to refer to them. So I stepped out of my comfort zone and binned them all. Yup. I’m starting all over again. Of course I’ve kept all of my important contacts etc but as for some of those files that I hadn’t looked at since 2011. GONE! And the good thing is that after I got rid of them I felt so free and energised to start all over again.

What did I learn from this? That I needed to let go of the old but I couldn’t do that until I had gotten rid of all of the clutter.

The New Year signifies a new season in life. So don’t hold on to the old. Get rid of it. It’s time to let it go!

See you tomorrow.

One thought on “Day 27 – 50 Day Change Challenge – Time to Declutter

  1. katebortell says:

    Hey there, Congratulations! You’ve been nominated for The Shauny Award for Excellence in Blogging! See my blog for instructions. 😃

Tell me what you think before you GO!

