Day 35 – 50 Day Change Challenge – Awareness

50 Day Challenge

On day 35 of the challenge I want to touch on the subject, awareness. I love the perspective of C.G. Kung when he said “Until you make the unconscious conscious, it will direct your life and you will call it fate.”

What does this mean in a nutshell? It basically means that until we become aware about who we are and our world, we’ll glibly and blindly potter through life, having various experiences and saying things like, “Oh well, I guess this is how it was meant to be”. Or “It was bound to happen to someone sooner or later, I guess it’s just my turn”.

These statements are just so far from the truth. Life doesn’t just happen to us. If we’re honest, I mean really honest, we face many issues in our lives because we lack the awareness of how to map the situations that we find ourselves in and how we wound up there. Which makes getting where we really want to be difficult and very illusive.

Why is being aware so important? Well, for one thing it allows us to make conscious decisions and life choices. It’s amazing how many people are strolling around in the game called life but they act as if they are bystanders or spectators, instead of active partipants. I think we’ve all met the person who you just want to knock on and ask… “Is anybody home”!

Awareness forces us to take responsibility for our actions and it exposes us to a much more deliberate level of thinking about life and the people in our sphere of influence. It relieves us of blaming others which frees us to lead our own lives, rather than allowing it to be held captive to another human being or a set of negative circumstances.

I would say that growing my awareness has been one of the pinnacles of life change for me because it has helped to shape and enhance my relationships, marriage, parenting, belief system and my faith. In fact I don’t think there’s an area of my life that awareness hasn’t affected. I can say without a shadow of a doubt that my choices have become a function of my awareness.

So where would you say you are in terms of  your awareness, when it comes to your emotions, feelings and beliefs. If it’s not very high in a certain area don’t feel daunted. Awareness is like an onion. It has many layers. It’s quite normal to be more self aware in some areas than in others. The key is to have an open mindset and not a fixed one. One that embraces growth and constant learning. The powerful thing about awareness is that you can grow it. So my challenge to you today is to make your choices a function of awareness.

Feel free to drop me a line to give me your perspective on this subject. It’s a great subject and I’d love to talk more with you about it.

See you tomorrow

Tell me what you think before you GO!

