Day 36 – 50 Day Change Challenge – Don’t Delay, Do it Today!

50 Day Challenge

It’s day 36 and today I’m looking at the art of delay! Yes, I’m calling it an art because it takes tremendous skill to convince ourselves of some of the stories we do, to cover up our procrastination.

Let’s be honest when we lack lustre about a specific task, we could stock an entire library of well formulated excuses of why we haven’t completed what we set out to do. Some people are so good at it that they’d probably do very well at the Oscars’ due to the stories they weave to justify why they haven’t been responsible or committed enough to fulfil a set plan.

I wrote a post a while back called ‘Procrastination is a Cancer’ so I’m not going to get too detailed about how to deal with it. If you want to know more you can read that post and you’ll get the gist. But I do want to mention it on this 50 Day Challenge because putting off today’s tasks in the false hope that they will be done tomorrow will never get you to your goal. Time is not going to stand still so we can finish our tasks. We’ll always be too busy, tired or swamped to get back to it.

I’m sure there are a whole host of reasons for delaying, but I’ve found that most people put things off when they’re emotionally disengaged, overwhelmed, distracted, depressed or lack the knowledge of what they are supposed to be doing. I was plagued with this for years, so I’m speaking from experience and not an armchair. I had to put some specific things in place to help me overcome it.

  1. Build a schedule and stick to it
  2. Make sure my schedule is programmed with alerts
  3. Turn off all distractions including all forms of Social Media while I’m working on deadlines
  4. Be accountable to others by telling them what I plan to do
  5. Be aware of and keep away from the things that make me lose energy
  6. Place a higher value on the goal I’m trying to reach
  7. Engage in as many things as possible that I’m passionate about

I found that being aware of what made me procrastinate helped me to learn what I had to do to overcome it.

So, are you aware of what makes you put things off?

What are some of the excuses you make instead of completing things immediately?

What can you put in place to help you overcome putting off things?

Let me know, I’d love to hear from you on the subject.

See you tomorrow

Tell me what you think before you GO!

