Day 41 – 50 Day Change Challenge – Rest, Reinvent, Restore

50 Day Challenge

It’s Day 41 and I’ve taken the chill pill! The Christmas Holiday allows me time out after a long year of victories, losses, successes, failures, plateaus, learning, growing, happiness, sadness. You name it, I’ve experienced it! But now it’s time to take that well needed down time to reflect, reinvent and recharge our batteries.

With just a couple of days to go before the day that everybody’s preparing for, there’s the propensity to get out there and join the mad rush of shopping and commerce. Don’t get me wrong. I’m all for gift giving and blessing others at this time of year but I just want to highlight the point, that amidst all of the crazy schedules and activities, you must find time to rest, reinvent and restore yourself for the journey ahead.

This is going to be so important to step into a New Year with clarity and awareness. These 3 R’s allow us to relax and be in a state of reflection. It’s when we rest that we are able to find true answers to the questions we’ve been asking about our lives throughout the year, but we’ve just been too busy to stop and listen for the answers.

When we rest, we’re able to reinvent ourselves because our stillness affords us to dig deep within and build the level of curiosity about ourselves that enables us to make radical life changes. Being a woman of faith, I’ve learned that when I’m at my quietest I can talk to my God but even better, I’m in the right posture to hear his replies and direction back to me. The last thing you want to feel is that you’re just strolling from year to year with the same old ideas, beliefs  and behaviours when it comes to your life and your immediate world.

If you’re like me and human; you’ll have experienced disappointments and curve balls that may have hit you for six and possibly knocked some of the wind out of your sail. It’s in our downtime that we are able to heal from these things, forgive and move on. This is where you’ll find the time to be restored emotionally and physically.

I don’t know about you but it’s when I’m in a reflective and restful mode that I’m most creative and able to dream and think clearly about the future and things that I want to accomplish. This is where ideas come a dime a dozen and the cup of innovation is full to overflowing.

I will warn you that you have to be quite deliberate about calved out down time. It won’t just happen. There will always be something or someone competing for what is sacred to you.  So you’re going to have to put your blinkers on, get your diary out and schedule it in. That’s the only way it will happen.

So on day 41 I’m encouraging you to enjoy your Christmas festivities but take the necessary time to rest, reinvent and restore. The benefits are priceless and the outcomes are long lasting and much easier to sustain.

It would be great to hear from some of you reading this post on what you have planned to ensure your well deserved down time in over the holidays. You’re experiences help others who are reading this post. So let me hear your thoughts.

See you tomorrow.

Tell me what you think before you GO!

